Cooking with Alison

Deep Fried Chick Peas

In Appetizers, Hors D'oeuvres, Snacks on April 8, 2010 at pm

I’ve been trying to incorporate more legumes into my diet in hopes that I’ll develop a better appreciation for them.  I love hummus but I don’t like eating chick peas whole.  So when I first heard of people deep frying chickpeas, I knew I had to try it.  It was the perfect snack for a poker night that I hosted, because I needed a vegan alternative for one of the guys.

Deep Fried Chick Peas Recipe

1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed (Note:  if you use dried chick peas that have been soaked in water overnight, they will turn out crispier than canned chick peas)

vegetable oil for frying

sea salt

chili powder (optional)

Remove the skins of the chickpeas (optional).  Then dry the chick peas by rolling them between sheets of paper towel.  Heat the oil to 350 F.  To test the temperature of the oil, if you drop a single chickpea into the oil, the oil should sizzle immediately and the chickpea should float.  Remove the tester and discard it so that it doesn’t burn while you cook the rest of the chickpeas.  Add all of the chickpeas into the hot oil and fry for 2 to 4 minutes, depending on how crispy you want your chickpeas.  Remove with a slotted spoon (I use a Chinese wire strainer) and place onto a paper bag lined plate.  Note:  Using brown paper bags to soak the oil from deep fried foods keeps the food crunchy whereas paper towels can make them soggy.  Sprinkle with pinches of salt and chili powder (if using) to taste.  Serve warm.

Note:  If you want to double the recipe, deep fry the chick peas in separate batches.  Preheat the oven to 200 F and place the fried chick peas on a brown paper bag lined baking sheet to keep them warm until ready to serve.

  1. You have made me hungry now! 😦

Leave a comment